Yellowknife Golf Club 2015 Annual General Meeting Minutes

Sunday, 09.13.2015 @ 2PM

Attendees

- Paulette Doucet (Board President)
- Geno Holick (Board Member)
- Darryl Bohnet (Board Member)
- Michael Garbowicz (Board Member)
- Eugene Kenny
- Darin Black
- Brodi Garbowicz
- Ianna Ward
- Hughie Graham
- Jenni Bruce
- Allison Kincaid (Board Member)
- Euan McLean (Board Member)
- Damien Healy
- Kris Basi
- John Nahanni (Board Member)

Absent (board members)

- Deb Ross (Treasurer)
- Joan Hirons (Secretary)
- Ron Lafond

Meeting Minutes

Call to Order

Paulette Doucet

Approval of Agenda

Motioned - Allison Kincaid, Seconded by John Nahanni, Passed

Approval of Minutes from Spring Meeting

Motioned - Allison Kincaid, Seconded by Michael Garbowicz, Passed

President's Report

- Presented by Paulette Doucet (see attached written report)
- Question from member who updates the website as there are spelling errors on it.
 - O Answer Shaun Morris and Kellet Communications. Contact them with comments.

Treasure's Report

Presented by Paulette Doucet in Deb Ross' absence (see attached written report)

General Manager's Report

Presented by Matt Gray

Committee Reports

Men's Night

- Presented by John Nahanni (see attached written report)
- Question by member Would it be possible to post rules and prize structure on YGC website and distribute via email as well prior to men's night.
 - O Commitment to do this by Paulette Doucet (Board President)

Ladies' Night

- Presented by Paulette Doucet (see attached written report)
- Comment Drink cart workers are not trained properly. They tend to stop at the green, in the middle of the fairway, etc. This slows play significantly and they need to be trained better.

Grounds & Maintenance

Presented by Geno Holick (see attached written report)

Capital Improvements

- Presented by Michael Garbowicz (see attached written report)
- Question Where was gravel added on the course? The area after the tee-box on #3 needs it.

- Question What are the trail fees that are collected on private fees used for? Are they earmarked for maintenance on trails.
 - O Answer No, the board budgets approximately \$4,000-\$5,000 per year for trail maintenance.
- Question What are we returning re: leased carts? What about the carts that are damaged and need to be returned?
 - O Answer Matt is waiting to hear from the leasing company on buyout costs, costs for new carts, etc.

Club Tournaments

Presented by John Nahanni (see attached written report)

Marketing & Communications

Presented by Shaun Morris (see attached written report)

Government Relations

- Presented by Darryl Bohnet (see attached written report)
- This year we changed from tourism focus to infrastructure focus. This included new deck outside pro-shop, apron on #6, sign on highway. We received money from the GNWT that covered 50% of costs. We must deliver a final report.

Rules & Handicaps

- Presented by Euan McLean (see attached written report)
- Idea for preventing cheating during scrambles double up groups on each hole.

Old Business

- Question about board resolution that was passed preventing YGC staff, who are CPGA Professionals, from winning prizes in tournaments.
- MOTION (DARIN BLACK, seconded by Damien Healy) YGC Staff, who are CPGA Professionals, be allowed to win prizes in club tournaments.
 - O Vote: 3 in favour, 8 opposed (MOTION DEFEATED)

Nomination of Candidates for Directors

Existing Board:

- Paulette Doucet (President, 1 year remaining in term)
- Deb Ross (1 year remaining in term)
- Allison Kincaid (1 year remaining in term)
- Michael Garbowicz (1 year remaining in term)
- Shaun Morris (1 year remaining in term)
- John Nahanni (1 year remaining in term)
- Geno Holick (term complete)

- Euan McLean (term complete)
- Ron Lafond (term complete)
- Darryl Bohnet (term complete)
- Joan Hirons (term complete)

Nominees for 5 open director positions:

- Darin Black nominated by Allison Kincaid
- Hughie Graham nominated by Allison Kincaid
- Geno Holick nominated by Allison Kincaid
- Euan McLean nominated by Allison Kincaid
- Jenni Bruce nominated by Hughie Graham
- Joan Hirons nominated by Allison Kincaid
- Dwayne Simmons nominated by Jenni Bruce

Election of Directors

Vote

- Hughie Graham elected
- Geno Holick elected
- Euan McLean elected
- Jenni Bruce elected
- Joan Hirons elected
- Darin Black 7 votes received (NOT elected)
- Dwayne Simmons 5 votes received (NOT elected)

MOTION TO DESTROY BALLOTS (Hughie Graham, seconded by Allison Kincaid)

New Business

None

Adjournment

Paulette Doucet